Wrong Number…ep33

I left home early on Friday morning. I needed to see Lizzy first at the bank where she works before going over to joy’s as i promised her earlier that i will be coming to see her. She introduced me to some policies. I intend to take on the policy.
I was directed to Lizzy’s office. On my way down the banking hall, I ran into my lodge mate back in school.
“It’s a lie…Bola!” I couldn’t believe my eyes.
“Pamilerin!” she called out and we hugged each other.
“What are you doing here” I asked
“I work here, an IT student (Industrial Training)
“Wow! Bola I’m so happy for you. I’m glad you did not give up on yourself.
“Thanks, I got an admission a year later when I left school and here I am”
“Congrats dear, the downfall of a man, is never the end of a man. How are your parents?”
“They are fine, when we got home that day, they never stop talking about you”
“Really, I’m sorry I lost your contact”
“Pamilerin! i almost gave up but I held on to your advice and make up mind to be a better person”
“Bola I never knew you were expelled from school until that very day your parents came to pack your things” I explained
“I believe you, I knew you had no idea. But those who knew prefer to gossip behind me, rather than telling me the truth”
“Anyways people can be funny at times, that’s why its good to surround yourself with good people”
“You are right, I’ve learnt my lessons. Now I only associate with people that add value to my life”
“Nice, I feel elated to see how well you are doing. Thank God for your supportive parents”
“My dear I couldn’t have done it without them, I’m grateful to God for given me such Parents”
“My regards to them”
“I will, so what brings you to the bank?” she asked.
“I came to see a friend for official and unofficial matters” I said smiling.
“Who is that?”
“Mrs Lizzy Paul”
“The Loan officer! She’s my Boss, I work under her. I’ll lead you to her office”
Bola tapped the door lightly and opened the door she let me in first.
“Good morning banker” I said

with a smile.
“You finally show up, thank God for midterm break. Good morning dearest” Lizzy stood up from her seat and hugged me.
“Please have your sit” she offered.
“Thanks. How’s your hubby and your little man?”

I asked referring to David, Lizzy’s son.
“They are fine, both of them are now 5 and 6”
“That’s good, I like that”
“Bola thanks for bringing her in, you can leave now”

Lizzy said
“Bola is my friend, I ran into her on my way down here”

I informed her.
“Really, I thought she just led you to my office” she said innocently.
“Bola is a friend I lost contact with, my coming here today really worth it”
“Happy reunion then” Lizzy said smiling.
“That reminds me, Bola let me have your contact” I said 
We exchanged numbers. While Lizzy was busy with some paper works.

“Lizzy me I need a favor o”
She looked up “Let’s hear it” 
“Please help me retain Bola after her IT. At least you want to help me secure a job here but I declined because I don’t like banking jobs”
“So you want to do change by batter, right” she said laughing.
“Whatever, just help me please…”
“No problem, I’ll try my best” she said
“Thank you” Bola and I chorused. She was so happy. 
“Now back to business” Lizzy said
“Yes, official mode activated” I said jokingly.
“Bola please make some coffee for your your friend”
“Alright ma” she said and prepared the coffee.
“I’m not in charge of the policy program but I’ll take you to the person in charge” Lizzy stated while I was sipping my coffee.
“Ok, can we leave once I’m done with the coffee”
“Sure”
“Cos I’m still going to Daniel’s place”
“You mean his office?”
“No, the mansion”
“He’s not going to work?” she asked surprised
“It’s like we are both on midterm break” I said and we laughed.
“Anyway, that’s cool, you need time togt to talk about so many things. My regards”
“I will thanks dear” I said 

Some minutes later, I was through and took my leave.

I visited Joy as promised.

I walked into her cozy living room. I met her husband Kola in the living room as well. I hugged them one after the other. It’s been long I’ve seen them and I’m glad they’re doing well.

“What can I offer you?”

Joy asked

“I’m OK for now, maybe later”

Her husband excused us.” I’ll be in the room”

“This yours engagement ring we cost a fortune o” she said admiring my ring.

“I’ll have to go and keep this ring in my closet o before you people rob me”

i said jokingly.

Sincerely everyone I met who have eyes for real gold always give me the same remarks.

“How far with the pregnancy issue” I asked

“We are still waiting on God”

“Hope your doctors knows about your history, because in this life, there are three people you should never lie to”

“Really! Please go ahead and mention them”

“Your Doctor, your lawyer and your Pastor. If you lie to them, then you are on your own. They can only help you by telling the truth”

“You are right o, anyway my Doctor knows about my history”

“Better, so they’ll know how to handle your case”

“Medically, the Doctors assured us that there is 50-60% assurance that I’ll conceive”

“Make sure you go for second opinion, don’t just stick to one hospitals. I suggest you try government hospitals too” I suggested.

“I’ll give it a trial too, thanks”

“Maybe you should try IVF, there’s no point wasting time, its more than a year now. I know its expensive, but you guys can afford it” I advised her.

“I’ve started the IVF treatment already, we are just hoping to get good results”

“It is well, I believe God will answer us”

“Amen”

” Joy I’m scared too”

“Come off it, because I have fertility problem doesn’t mean you’ll experience the same. I know some ladies that aborted more than three times and still had children later. Our grace differs my dear”

“You are right. What is good for the goose is also good for the gander doesn’t mean that the goose and the gander are equals”

“Hmmm… She sighed deeply. You are absolutely right my sister”

“How’s your husband taking it”

“Truth be told, he has been supportive”

“That’s why you people must act fast before pressure, start getting to you”

“Thanks sis, now what will you eat?”

“I’m not a visitor, if I’m ready I’ll let you know”

“No need to let me know, just go into the kitchen and sought yourself whenever you are ready”

Kola joined us afterwards. The table was reversed and the topic is now about me. We talked about Daniel and all that is there to know.

Daniel called we talked for a while. He talked with my cousin and they also make plans on meeting each other. Joys husband as already joined us, so he spoke with Daniel too.

“When are we going to meet him” he asked.

“Don’t worry, I’ll bring him here one of the days” I replied

“We’ll be expecting, just give us a call, so we can prepare ourselves”

“What kind of preparation is that, you want to kill cow because he’s visiting?”

“That’s none of your business, if we like we can kill elephant, we must receive him powerfully you know” Joy replied me.

“Really, I hear you”

“Have you eaten” Kola asked

“Your wife refused to give me food o, she said I should go into the kitchen myself and cook, that I’m not a visitor”

“Anyways, she’s right, but I’ll fix you something myself. So what will you like to eat”

“Brother in-law of life! Any other brother inlaw is a counterfeit ” he gave me a high five. I’ll eat anything you prepared, thanks”

We all went into the kitchen together, we watched while he prepared the food.

Kola is a sweet guy, I silently prayed to God that minute to please give them children.

Leave a Reply

