Wrong Number…ep19

Daniel and I continued our routine calls. Along the line I got to know some things about him. Mr Paul do call me too, to ask after my well being, he’s very friendly. He relate with me as if we’ve known each other for ages. I was happy to have this two great guys in my life.

****

Few weeks later, Daniel stopped calling, he’s not online also, I was really worried for him, I just hope he’s fine.

I decided to give him a call at least for someone who calls almost everyday and stooped suddenly, I think courtesy demand I check on him.

I called all his two lines, but none was going through. I thought of Mr Paul “he would have more information on him”. I dialed his number

“Hello, Mr Paul”

“Hello dear, how are you today?”

“Mr Paul I’m good, please….

“I know why you’re calling, I tried calling him countless times but all his lines are not going through.

“What do you suggest we do now, I don’t know I have a feeling that something is wrong. He can’t just abandoned everything he’s spent money on here and then disappear into thin air”

i said

“I’ve sent mails, which he did not reply. I even tried to contact his company in America just to get hold of him but all my efforts on reaching him proofed abortive”

“What are we going to do now?” I asked Mr Paul

My cousin is leaving east Africa for the state next week, I think he would help us contact him”

“Next week!”

“Daniella!”

he called out

“Yes”

“He’s…coming…back”

“I don’t mind if he doesn’t come back, I just pray his safe, he could decide to stay back but I want to hear that he’s safe”

“See! Just relax, let’s pray for him”

“I’ve been doing that for weeks now”

“Then let’s leave things to God. You know what I can see you are very tensed, can we go out, maybe to the cinema?”

“Is that a date?”

“Lets not call it a date, I just want to make you relax”

“Ok, cinema it is then?

“Good, I’ll pick you up tomorrow, 7pm”

“Alright then, see you tomorrow “

“Have a lovely night rest”

“You too, good night”

****

He picked me up the next day and we went to the cinemas. He said he’ll be the one to pick the movie to watch.

“No problem as long as its not a crime or horror movie that’s the last thing I need right now”

We saw a romantic comedy, the movie was so hilarious, I almost spilled my drink on my body. In fact I had to handover my drink and popcorn to him.

“I think I succeeded in making you laugh” he said after the movie ended.

“Yes, I really enjoyed myself” I said all smiling.

“I can see that, we can do this again, if you don’t mind”

“I don’t mind at all, I had fun. Thanks so much”

Lets take you home, it’s getting late”

We strolled down to the parking lot, some minutes later we are out of the place.

On our way home, I thought of Daniel, I really miss his voice.

“A penny for your thought”

I just smiled sheepily

“Daniel right!”

“I know I just meet him and we are just friends, but Daniel he’s just so good that I pray everyday for him that no harm should come his ways”

“Next week is just around the corner dear, let’s wait till then”

“Thanks, I really enjoyed myself, I’m sorry I brought this up again”

“It’s OK, I understand and I appreciate your concern, a lady like you is rare”

He parked in front of my house.

“Thank you, I’m really relieved, thanks for the treat”

“Its nothing, just take care of yourself, call and let me know if you need anything”

“OK, thanks. Good night and drive safe.

“ I will good night”

I alighted, he reversed and zoom off.

He called the following week and gave me the news, the news wasn’t pleasing at all. “God please intervene” i prayed silently.

“What exactly happened” I asked Mr Paul anxiously.

“My cousin said Daniel had problem with the company he’s working with in the states. He’s employer doesn’t want him to resign, I heard he’s the brain behind the company, so a lawsuit had been filed against him”

“Oh my God, why are this white people like this, so they expect their employees to work under them for the rest of their lives?”

“That’s what they do over there, they are Ready to pay for your brain till it stop functioning. I even heard they tripled he’s pay and still he insisted he’s leaving”

“Do they have to file a lawsuit? That’s extreme for crying out loud”

“He’s been doing some running around, just to win the case. I think he purposely kept it a way from us, especially you, he did not want you to worry for him”

“It is well at least now we know what to pray on, they will drop that lawsuit by God’s grace”

“I believe he’ll scale through”

“Amen, thanks you so much Mr Paul”

“You don’t have to thank Mr, Daniel is my friend too”

“I hope his absence didn’t affect anything here?” I asked

“Not at all, I’ve put things on hold till he comes back” he replied

“Ok” We talked a little about me, before we ended the call.

***

Days turns to weeks, weeks turns to months and I didn’t hear from him.

Mr Paul had been very friendly, he called and we hang out once in a while.

Then one faithful day, my phone rang, i checked the callers ID and guess who called?

“Daniel!” I almost screamed

“Daniella, I’m sorry I’ve wronged you, I’m very sorry for the silence all this why. Things are beyond me

“I understand, I’m just happy to hear your voice

“Daniella I starred at my phone every night before I go to bed but I couldn’t bring myself to call you”

“Those people almost torn me apart, but God intervened, I won the lawsuit”

“Thank God “ I almost screamed. I was so happy.

“Yes, I won, I did not only win, I was paid compensation money worth millions of dollars including my entitlement”

“I’m so happy Daniel, finally. I want to hear the full gist, what really happened. Didn’t you notify them that you’re leaving?

“Off course I did, I submitted my resignation six month before I came to Nigeria”

“Really that’s enough notice, what exactly is now their problem”

“The only problem they have is me leaving the company. You can’t believe I was framed up”

“Are you for real?”

“I was told to pay some ridiculous amount of money, if I want the law suit to be dropped”

“Why are this white people like this! They are racist, I’m sure they can’t do these to a white man”

“They think they can buy people over with money, they use your brain and expect to work under them till your brain is inefficient”

“I heard you are the brain behind the company”

“I won’t dispute that and I’m been paid handsomely. But I just want to leave, but now is over, I’m a free man”

“Congratulations once again” I said

“I’m I forgiven?”

“You did not offend me, I shut people out to when I’m going through hard times so I understand”

“Thanks for your understanding. I really miss talking to you”

“Same here” I said smiling

“I’m coming back next month, I need to tidy up some things here”

“Alright, we’ll be expecting you”

“I promise to talk to you ever day till I return”

“Okay…”

Every thing went back to normal, Daniel is just too wonderful while Mr Paul was always checking on me.

With this new relationship between the three of us, I forgot everything about the past and looked forward to the future.

Leave a Reply

